9/1/24 - Sunday

I wish this was April 1st instead of September 1st.  That way I could write this whole post and then say 'April Fools!"  But I can't.

I went to Houston on Thursday morning and stayed with Courtney so I could make my 8 a.m. appointment at MD Anderson on Friday morning.  Drove through a really crappy rainstorm and was very glad to pull into her driveway.  Just a few minutes after I arrived, it hit her house.  I drove by myself this time because David went to the A&M game.  I had a mammogram at 8 and they made me stay for a second session.  An 'enhanced' version.  At 9, I had an ultrasound and the doctor came in and told me I needed a biopsy because they found some calcifications.  Apparently, they are only visible with mammograms and not ultrasounds or MRI's.  I had a mammogram 8 months ago that showed nothing, and the biggest one is now 1.3 centimeters.  They told me all about them and said they were more common in patients who just had surgery, but my surgery was 3 years ago, so they were 'concerning' and 'suspicious'.  At 11:30, I saw the surgeon, who checked me over and told me all about them again.  She set up my biopsy for 9/10 at 7:15 a.m., so I'll have to drive back down to Houston next week.

I stayed with Courtney till today and headed back home on I-45.  Drove through another rainstorm that was the worst I'd ever been through.  It went on for miles and I just wanted to get off the freeway.  I needed gas and a bathroom, so decided to exit and take care of that.  I grabbed a bite to eat and got back on the freeway.  I got about 5 miles south of Bucc-ees and hit another rainstorm.  It showed up really fast, but I had already slowed down because I couldn't see.  Apparently, I hadn't slowed down enough, tho, because a car hit his brakes in front of me and I couldn't stop in time.  The whole freeway was stopped ahead of me.  Gads.  I hit the brakes and moved into the left lane, which was clear.  Thanks goodness no one was behind me because I hydroplaned, swerved back and forth, began a 360 degree spin, nearly hit the guardrail, went back across the freeway and headed down an embankment going backwards.  I heard myself scream and could not see where I was going.  I slid down the hill, did a 180 at the bottom and ended up facing away from the freeway.  I missed hitting anything but grass.  And, it was as high as the bottom of my window. I couldn't see the ground and didn't know if I was in water, or not.  It was still pouring rain.  I turned the car off and expected someone to come down and see if I was alright.  No one came.  I called David and told him and started to call a tow truck, but then I decided I would try and drive back up the hill.  Couldn't hurt.  If I didn't make it, the tow truck could still get me.  My Cadillac doesn't have 4-wheel drive, unfortunately.  It was really wet, and I was down quite a ways from the road, so I didn't think I had a chance, but the opposite end of where I came down was an easier slope, so I headed that way.  I slipped a lot, but I made it back up to the road.  I was shaking like a leaf.  I got out and checked the car and then stopped at Buc-ees to check it again because it was making a noise.  I couldn't see anything, so got back on the road.  The noise got louder, so I stopped at a picnic area and looked everywhere again.  Really well.  Nothing.  I got back on the road and the noise was gone.  I drove another 2 hours home and it was the longest drive ever.  I was never so glad to pull into the driveway as I was this afternoon.  

Except for good company this weekend, I've had some crappy days.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog